top of page



ECO-6 Chairman H.R.H. Chief Timothy McPherson (left) with AU Deputy-Chairman H.E. Kwesi Quartey (right)

The Office of the Secretariat is headed by the ECO-6 Chairman and represented by the Secretary General. The Office works closely with the Council of Ministers and the House of Chiefs to direct the implementation of all ECO-6 programmes, initiatives, and projects. The Secretariat represents ECO-6 in the exercise of its legal personality.

The official seat of the Secretariat is at the ECO-6 Headquarters located in the Sovereign Maroon Territories on the Island of Jamaica.

The ECO-6 Secretariat has been designed to engage the African Diaspora across all regions, including: Europe, the Americas, and Asia.


Key areas of priority for the Secretariat are:


  • industry, trade, finance and investment

  • employment creation and poverty eradication through industrialization

  • agriculture, food, and natural resources

  • knowledge transfer and human capacity development

  • communication and information technology

  • energy, environment, and sustainable development

  • science and technology

  • healthcare and preventive medicines     



Chief Semako with Roger Nkodo Dang Presi
ECO-6 Chairman H.R.H. Chief Timothy McPherson with African Union
President of the Pan-African Parliament H.E. Roger Nkodo Dang   
ECO-6 Chairman H.R.H. Chief Timothy McPherson with ECOWAS Commission President H.E. Dr. Omar Alieu Touray 
bottom of page